|
| Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research,
find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources
will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell
you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background
sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the reference collection.
Textbooks
also provide background information.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
You can find encyclopedias and dictionaries for specific
topics by using the SMC Library
Catalog, by consulting the List
of Encyclopedias in the Reference Area, or by asking a librarian to
suggest appropriate titles. For more general background information you
may wish to consult the Encyclopedia
Britannica Online
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
-
Read the background information and note any useful sources (books, journals,
magazines, etc.) listed in the bibliography at the end of the encyclopedia
article or dictionary entry. The sources cited in the bibliography are
good starting points for further research.
-
Look up these sources in the SMC
Library Catalog. Check the subject headings listed in the catalog for
the books. Then use those subject headings to locate additional titles.
-
Remember that many of the books and articles you find in the SMC Library
Catalog and periodical indexes will themselves have bibliographies. Check
these bibliographies for additional relevant resources for your research.
By routinely following up on sources cited in bibliographies, you can create
a surprisingly large list of books and articles on your topic in a relatively
short time.
You are ready for the next step: Finding
Books.
Return to the
Seven Steps of the Research Process
Return to Library
Research Guide |