Books to help you organize, write, and format your paper
|
| The following books are only a few of many designed to
help you write a research paper.
SELECTING A TOPIC, TAKING NOTES, ORGANIZING A DRAFT
-
Turabian, Kate L. Students' Guide for Writing College Papers. 3rd
ed. Chicago: U of Chicago P, 1976.
(R / 808 / T92s / 1976))
-
A well-organized guide to writing papers, from choosing the topic to writing
the paper in its final form. Includes advice on collecting information,
outlining, taking notes, punctuation, etc. Best known for its chapters
on format in footnotes and bibliographies. Replete with examples illustrating
how the general rules apply to all manner of publications and problems.
WRITING THE PAPER: STYLE AND USAGE
-
Troyka, Lynn Quitman. Simon and Schuster Handbook for Writers. 3rd
ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1993. (R / 808 / T86s)
-
This handbook is both a comprehensive guide to good English grammar, usage,
punctuation, and spelling, and a guide to thinking critically and to research
writing. It has a special section for English as a Second Language (ESL)
students.
-
Strunk, William and E.B. White. The Elements of Style. 3rd ed. New
York: Macmillan, 1979.
(808 / S93 / 1979)
-
E.B. White, who revised the original of this "little book" and who wrote
the introduction to it, says that this was Will Strunk's "attempt to cut
the vast tangle of English rhetoric down to size and write its rules and
principles on the head of a pin". As useful today as it was when first
written (1919), the Elements is an essential guide for anyone who
takes the English language seriously.
THE FINAL PRODUCT: FORMAT AND DOCUMENTATION
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.. 4th
ed. Washington: APA, 1994.
(R / 150.6 / A51p / 1994)
-
The authoritative style manual for anyone writing in the field of psychology.
Its chapters discuss the content and organization of a manuscript, writing
style, the American Psychological Association style, and typing, mailing
and proofreading. In addition, the final chapter describes the journals
of the American Psychological Association.
-
Gibaldi, Joseph and Walter S. Achtert. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research
Papers. 4th ed. New York: MLA, 1995. (R / 808 / M685 / 1995)
-
This handbook is based on the MLA Style Manual and is intended as an aid
for college students writing research papers. Included here is information
on selecting a topic, researching the topic, note taking, the writing of
footnotes and bibliographies, as well as sample pages of a research paper.
Extremely useful for the beginning researcher.
-
Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.
6th ed. Chicago: U Chicago P, 1996. (R / 808 / T92m / 1996)
-
Kate Turabian's standard guide for student writers, newly revised by John
Grossman and Alice Bennett. Fourteen chapters cover everything you've ever
wanted to know about putting a paper together, from its introductory chapters
to its bibliography.
Return to the Seven Steps of the
Research Process
Return to Library Research:
Guide
|
|